Before & After Weathering

In this quick post I want to show you the difference between a shinny wagon (as unboxed) and a weathered one. I’ve never thought I liked to “ruin” my trains with washes and paint, since all the models are not cheap, but seeing all the trains running on the layout so perfect and clean, gave me a sense of unreal. So few months ago I started with an Hobbytrain/Kato lok (sice is cheap) with non so great results… looked a bit unreal.

In the meanwhile I started to paint some Warhammer minis (a fantasy boardgame from Games Workshop) and I learned some cool techniques that I’ve applied on my trains 😀

I took some pics of the before and the after just to compare them; my goal is to have all my trains so realistic 😀 Hope you like them 😀

2 responses to “Before & After Weathering

  1. Just excellent! What a huge improvement! I agree with you, I hate the idea of ‘ruining’ a beautiful – and expensive model – but I do think they look a LOT better with some good weathering! Well done!

    • Yes, I’ve started with wagons, because they’re cheaper than loks, but I’m starting on them; I know many people use airbrush to make the dirt, others some powder; there are tons of techniques, but I think everyone should experiment and find the one that’s simpler for him.
      Weathering all my models will require some time, but I’ve no hurry. 😀
      Soon I’ll take new pics on the layout, just to show how do they look in their world 🙂 Glad you liked them 🙂

Leave a comment